Req. #13-0409



RESOLUTION NO. 38812

1 2	BY REQUEST OF MAYOR STRICKLAND AND COUNCIL MEMBERS CAMPBELL, LONERGAN, AND THOMS	
3	A RESOLUTION relating to committees, boards, and commissions; appointing citizens to the Charter Review Committee.	
4 5	WHEREAS the existing City Charter was adopted in 1953, and	
6	WHEREAS, pursuant to City Charter 2.25, the City Council shall commence	
7	a comprehensive review of the City Charter no less frequently than once every ten	
8 9	years, by appointing citizens to a Charter Review Committee or by the election of a	
9 10	board of freeholders in a manner provided in state law, and	
11	WHEREAS the last City Charter review commenced in 2004, and	
12	WHEREAS Resolution No. 38773, adopted November 12, 2013, requires	
13	the appointment of 15 individuals to the 2014 Charter Review Committee, and	
14 15	WHEREAS, pursuant to the City Charter and the Rules, Regulations, and	
15	Procedures of the City Council, the persons named on Exhibit "A" have been	
17	nominated to serve on said committee; Now, Therefore,	
18	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF TACOMA:	
19	That those nominees to the Charter Review Committee, listed on	
20 21	Exhibit "A," are hereby confirmed and appointed as members of said committee,	
21	and shall serve until such time as the final reports and recommendations are	
23		
24		
25		
26		
	-1- Res13-0409.doc-EAP/bn	



)			
1	¹ made on or prior to May 6, 2014, at which time said	Committee will be dissolved	
2	made, on or prior to May 6, 2014, at which time said Committee will be dissolved		
3	without further action of the City Council.		
4			
5			
6	6 Mayor		
7	Attest:		
8	8		
9	9 City Clerk		
10	¹⁰ Approved as to form:		
11	11		
12			
13	13 City Attorney		
14	14		
15	15		
16	16		
17			
18			
19			
20			
21			
22			
23			
24 25			
25 26			
20			
	-2-		
	Res13-0409.doc-EAP/bn		



EXHIBIT "A" 1 2 **CHARTER REVIEW COMMITTEE** 3 Bill Baarsma, Chair 4 Theresa Baker 5 Gary Brackett Mabel Edmonds 6 Tim Farrell 7 Eric Hahn Charles Horne 8 Justin Leighton 9 Mark Martinez 10 James Merritt John Messina 11 Kenneth Miller 12 Patricia Talton Catherine Ushka 13 Justin Van Dyk 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26