

#### **RESOLUTION NO. 41703**

#### BY REQUEST OF MAYOR WOODARDS

A RESOLUTION relating to committees, boards, and commissions; appointing individuals to the Mayor's Youth Commission of Tacoma Leadership Team, to a term to expire June 30, 2026.

WHEREAS vacancies exist on the Mayor's Youth Commission of Tacoma ("Commission") Leadership Team, and

WHEREAS in 2019, Resolution No. 40502 established the formal structure of the Commission, and appointed the inaugural Leadership Team, and

WHEREAS each year since then, the Commission elects a ten-member

Leadership Team from the general membership to serve a one-year term: a Chair

and Vice-Chair of the entire Commission, as well as a Chair and Vice-Chair of each

of the four committees, and

WHEREAS the Leadership Team meets twice each month and hosts a General Assembly meeting once per month, and

WHEREAS, at its meeting of June 7, 2025, the Commission convened to elect a new Leadership Team, and have submitted their names for confirmation, and

WHEREAS, pursuant to City Charter Section 2.4, the persons named on Exhibit "A" have been nominated to serve on the Commission's Leadership Team; Now, Therefore,



# 

# 

### 

9	

1	0

11	
----	--

#### 

# 

# 

City Attorney

# 

#### 

#### 

#### 

#### 

## 

#### 

# 

#### 

#### BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF TACOMA:

That those nominees to the	e Mayor's Youth Commission of Tacoma
leadership team listed on Exhibit "	A," are hereby confirmed and appointed as
members of such commission for	such terms as are set forth on the attached
Exhibit "A."	
Adopted	
Attest:	Mayor
City Clerk	•
Approved as to form:	



EXHIBIT "A"

#### MAYOR'S YOUTH COMMISSION LEADERSHIP TEAM

Appointing **Begina Kisembo** to the Commission Chair position, to a term to expire June 30, 2026.

Appointing **Norah Gawryczik** to the Commission Vice-Chair position, to a term to expire June 30, 2026.

Appointing **Safeera Shah** to the Education, Arts, and Culture Committee Chair position, to a term to expire June 30, 2026.

Appointing **Hayden Kempf-Leskajan** to the Environmental Health Committee Chair, to a term to expire June 30, 2026.

Appointing **Claire Ji** to the Environmental Health Committee Vice-Chair position, to a term to expire June 30, 2026.

Appointing **Joyce Zhang** to the Justice and Safety Committee Chair position, to a term to expire June 30, 2026.

Appointing **Deron Carston** to the Justice and Safety Committee Vice-Chair position, to a term to expire June 30, 2026.

Appointing **Eisha Ahmad** to the Social Health Committee Chair position, to a term to expire June 30, 2026.

Appointing **Jacqueline Nguyen** to the Social Health Committee Vice-Chair position, to a term to expire June 30, 2026.

16

14

15

17

18

19

20 21

22

23

24

25

26