

## City of Tacoma Infrastructure, Planning and Sustainability Committee Minutes

733 Market Street Tacoma, WA 98402

Conference Room 16

June 24, 2015

4:30 PM

Chair Ryan Mello, Vice Chair David Boe, Anders Ibsen, Lauren Walker, Marty Campbell (alternate)

#### Call To Order

Chair Mello called the meeting to order at 4:34 p.m.

Present: 3 - Boe, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - Walker

### **Approval of Minutes**

1. <u>15-0672</u> Approval of the minutes of the May 27, 2015 meeting

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Boe moved to approve the minutes of the

May 27, 2015 meeting.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Ibsen.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared

adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Boe, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - Walker

## **Briefing Items**

2. <u>15-0673</u> Applicant Interviews for Planning Commission [Doris Sorum, City Clerk]

At approximately 4:36 p.m., Doris Sorum, City Clerk, provided background information on current vacancies on the Planning Commission. She noted Chris Beale and Donald Erickson are seeking reappointment, and Michael Jankanish and Kevin Ellis were not available for an interview. Ms. Sorum concluded by reviewing the interview process.

The Committee interviewed the following applicants for the Planning Commission:

Chris Beale
Shiv Chandrasekaran
Alexander Edwards
Donald Erickson
Michael Jankanish
Brett Santhuff
Dorian Waller
David Sarver
Kevin Ellis

Discussion ensued regarding the candidates' qualifications and the current needs of the Commission.

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Boe moved to recommend the appointment of Dorian Waller to the Planning Commission to the District No. 2 position to serve a three-year term to expire June 30, 2018.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Ibsen.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Boe, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - Walker

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Boe moved to recommend the appointment of Brett Santhuff to the Planning Commission to the District No. 3 position to serve a three-year term to expire June 30, 2018.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Ibsen.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Boe, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - Walker

# 15-0673 Applicant Interviews for Planning Commission [Doris Sorum, City Clerk]

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Boe moved to recommend the reappointment of Chris Beale to the Planning Commission to the District No. 5 position to serve a three-year term to expire June 30, 2018.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Ibsen.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Boe, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - Walker

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Boe moved to recommend the appointment of Don Erickson to the Architecture, Historic Preservation, Urban Design position to fill an unexpired term to expire June 30, 2016.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Ibsen.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Boe, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - Walker

## **Topics for Upcoming Meetings**

3. <u>15-0674</u> July 8, 2015 - Live/Work Regulations and Applicant Interviews for the Transportation Commission

Anita Gallagher, City Manager's Office stated the next meeting is July 8, 2015, and will include live/work regulations and applicant interviews for the Transportation Commission.

### Other Items of Interest

There were no other items of interest.

### **Public Comment**

There was no public comment.

## Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:00 p.m.

Ryan Mello Chair

Jennifer Beauchamp, City Clerk's Office