

# City of Tacoma Infrastructure, Planning and Sustainability Committee Minutes

Dial: 253-215-8782 Meeting ID: 878 2905 6704

Webinar Link: www.zoom.us/j/87829056704 Passcode: 614650

December 08, 2021 4:30 PM

Chair Conor McCarthy, Vice Chair Kristina Walker, Chris Beale, Lillian Hunter, Catherine Ushka (alternate)

#### Call To Order

Chair McCarthy called the meeting to order at 4:35 p.m.

#### **Roll Call**

Present: 4 - Beale, Hunter, McCarthy and Walker

All Council Members participated virtually.

#### **Approval of Minutes**

1. 21-1217 Approval of the minutes of the June 9, 2021, meetin	1. 21-	-1217	Approval of th	ne minutes of the	June 9, 2021	, meeting
--	--------	-------	----------------	-------------------	--------------	-----------

- 2. <u>21-1218</u> Approval of the minutes of the June 23, 2021, meeting.
- 3. <u>21-1219</u> Approval of the minutes of the July 7, 2021, special meeting.

MOTION: Vice Chair Walker moved to approve the minutes of the June 9 and June 23, 2021 meetings, and the July 7, 2021 special meeting.

**SECONDED BY: Council Member Hunter.** 

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Hunter, McCarthy and Walker

## **Briefing Items**

4. <u>21-1201</u> Planning Commission Interviews. [Doris Sorum, City Clerk]

At approximately 4:39 p.m., Doris Sorum, City Clerk, stated the Committee would be interviewing seven applicants for the Planning Commission, that Brett Santhuff is seeking reappointment, and that Kim Eudaily, Aram Westergreen, and Clara Cheeves withdrew from consideration. She further stated that there are four positions available, including the District Nos. 2, 3, and 5 positions, and the Development Community position.

The Committee interviewed Robb Krehbiel, Brett Santhuff, Morgan Dorner, Michael Faulkner, Azaria Azene, David Fuller, and Anthony Steele.

Discussion ensued regarding the number of candidates available for each Council District, whether to consider appointment for Council District Nos. 3 and 5 positions tonight, the qualifications of the candidates, and whether to create a short list.

MOTION: Vice Chair Walker moved to recommend the reappointment of Brett Santhuff to the "District No. 3" position on the Planning Commission retroactive to July 1, 2021, to expire June 30, 2024.

**SECONDED BY: Council Member Hunter.** 

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Aves: 4 - Beale, Hunter, McCarthy and Walker

MOTION: Vice Chair Walker moved to recommend the appointment of Morgan Dorner to the "District No. 2" position on the Planning Commission to fill an unexpired term, to expire June 30, 2024.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Hunter.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Hunter, McCarthy and Walker

MOTION: Vice Chair Walker moved to recommend the appointment of Robb Krehbiel to the "District No. 5" position on the Planning Commission to fill an unexpired term, to expire June 30, 2024.

**SECONDED BY: Council Member Hunter.** 

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Hunter, McCarthy and Walker

MOTION: Chair McCarthy moved to recommend the appointment of Anthony Steele to the "Development Community" position on the Planning Commission to fill an unexpired term, to expire June 30, 2023.

**SECONDED BY: Council Member Hunter.** 

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Beale, Hunter and McCarthy

Nays: 1 - Walker

## **Topics for Upcoming Meetings**

**5. 21-1202** December 22, 2021 - Cancelled January 12, 2022 - To Be Determined

Claire Goodwin, Committee Liaison, stated the December 22,2021, meeting is cancelled, expressed appreciation for the work of outgoing Council Members, and that topics for the January 12, 2022, meeting have yet to be determined.

#### Other Items of Interest

Committee Members expressed thanks for the work done by outgoing Council Members, the work done by the Committee, and to City staff for their work supporting the Committee.

## **Public Comment**

Public Comment was heard from:

1. Jodi Cook, speaking on the work done by the Committee over the last year.

## Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:24 p.m.

M. C. d. Cl. :

Conor McCarthy, Chair

Jered Lobban, City Clerk's Office