

City of Tacoma

TO: Elizabeth Pauli, City Manager FROM: Doris Sorum, City Clerk Bill Fosbre, City Attorney

COPY: City Council

SUBJECT: Resolution – Appointing and reappointing individuals to the

Sustainable Tacoma Commission – May 9, 2023

DATE: May 1, 2023

SUMMARY:

Appointing and reappointing the following individuals to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission:

- Appointing Jennifer "Jen" Braveboy to fill an unexpired term, to expire April 30, 2025.
- Appointing Michael Chang to serve a three-year term, effective May 1, 2023, to expire April 30, 2026.
- Appointing Sheena Hewett to serve a three-year term, effective May 1, 2023, to expire April 30, 2026.
- Appointing Lowell Wyse to serve a three-year term, effective May 1, 2023, to expire April 30, 2026.
- Reappointing Laura Svancarek to serve a three-year term, effective May 1, 2023, to expire April 30, 2026.
- Reappointing Casey Twiggs to serve a three-year term, effective May 1, 2023, to expire April 30, 2026.

COUNCIL SPONSORS:

Deputy Mayor Walker and Council Members Bushnell, Diaz, and Hines.

STRATEGIC POLICY PRIORITY:

Appointing individuals to the Commission best aligns with the strategic priority policy related to fostering neighborhood, community, and economic development vitality and sustainability because the Commission oversees implementation of Tacoma's Climate Action Plan as the City and community reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

BACKGROUND:

At the April 26, 2023, Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee meeting, the Committee conducted interviews and recommended the appointment and reappointment of the individuals listed above.

ISSUE:

Positions need to be filled on the Sustainable Tacoma Commission.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Commission will continue to operate without full membership.

RECOMMENDATION:

The Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee is recommending the appointment and reappointment of the individuals listed above.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.