

RESOLUTION NO. 39194

BY REQUEST OF MAYOR STRICKLAND

A RESOLUTION relating to committees, boards, and commissions; increasing the number of the Tacoma Minimum Wage Task Force ("Task Force") members from 13 to 15 by adding two additional members representing business and citizen groups, and adding two alternates; and appointing individuals to the Task Force.

WHEREAS, pursuant to Resolution No. 39187, adopted May 5, 2015, the Tacoma Minimum Wage Task Force ("Task Force") was created to establish a committee to convene and discuss alternatives to the 15 Now Initiative and provide recommendations to the City Council by June 30, 2015, and

WHEREAS the Resolution created a 13-member task force, with each Council Member nominating a City resident, preferably from their District, where applicable, for consideration to the Task Force, said nominees to be geographically and culturally diverse to represent the entire Tacoma community, and four members representing various business and citizen groups, to be selected by the Mayor, and

WHEREAS the Mayor recommends increasing the number of Task Force members from 13 to 15 by adding two additional members representing business and citizen groups, and adding two alternates, to be selected by the Mayor, and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the City Charter Section 2.4 and the Rules,
Regulations, and Procedures of the City Council, the persons named on
Exhibit "A" have been nominated to serve on the Minimum Wage Task Force;
Now, Therefore,



BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF TACOMA:

Section 1. That the Tacoma Minimum Wage Task Force is hereby increased from 13 to 15 members by adding two additional members representing business and citizen groups, and adding two alternates, to be selected by the Mayor.

Section 2. That those nominees to the Tacoma Minimum Wage Task

Force, listed on Exhibit "A," are hereby confirmed and appointed as members of such task force.

Adopted	
Attest:	Mayor
City Clerk	
Approved as to form:	
City Attorney	

-2-



1

EXHIBIT "A"

TACOMA MINIMUM WAGE TASK FORCE

2

_

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18

19 20

21 22

23

24

25

26

Brenda Wiest, Legal Affairs Coordinator, Teamsters 117

Dennis Farrow, Advanced Technology Construction

Kelly Chambers, Visiting Angels

Reggie Frederick, Owner, Chalet Bowl

Sarah Cherin, Political and Public Policy Director, UFCW 21

Eric Hahn

David Strong, Executive Director, Aids Housing Association of Tacoma and Pastor, Greater Christ Community Church

Pastor Gregory Christopher

Dr. Ali Modarres, Professor, UW Tacoma

Liz Dunbar, Executive Director, Tacoma Community House

Michelle Douglas, Executive Director, Rainbow Center

Odette D'Aniello, Owner, Celebrity Cake Studio

Abranna Romero Rocha, Lincoln High School student

Jason Kinlow, Owner, A Taste of Philly

Elizabeth Lewis, Minimum wage worker, Staff Pro

Robert Taylor (Alternate), Member Field Director, SEIU1199NW

Russ Heaton (Alternate), Doyle's

-3-