

# City of Tacoma

**TO:** T.C. Broadnax, City Manager

**FROM:** Doris Sorum, City Clerk, City Attorney's Office

Elizabeth Pauli, City Attorney's Office

**COPY:** City Council and City Clerk

**SUBJECT:** Resolution – Appointing and reappointing individuals to the Planning Commission –

July 14, 2015

**DATE:** June 25, 2015

#### **SUMMARY:**

Appointing and reappointing the following individuals to the Planning Commission:

Dorian Waller to the District No. 2 position, Brett Santhuff to the District No. 3 position, and Chris Beale to the District No. 5 position to serve three-year terms to expire June 30, 2018; and Donald Erickson to the Architecture, Historic Preservation, Urban Design position to fill an unexpired term to expire June 30, 2016.

#### **COUNCIL SPONSORS:**

Deputy Mayor Boe, and Council Members Ibsen, and Mello.

## STRATEGIC POLICY PRIORITY:

Appointing and reappointing individuals to the Commission best aligns with the strategic priority policy related to fostering neighborhood, community, and economic development vitality and sustainability because the Commission ensures that all plans, goals, policies, and development regulations are promoting orderly and coordinated growth and development within the city.

#### **BACKGROUND:**

At the June 24, 2015 Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee meeting, the Committee conducted interviews and recommended the appointment and reappointment of the individuals listed above.

### **ISSUE:**

Four positions need to be filled on the Planning Commission.

## **ALTERNATIVES:**

The Commission would operate without full membership.

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

The Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee is recommending the appointment and reappointment of the individuals listed above.

## **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact.