

City of Tacoma Transportation Benefit District Governing Board Minutes

747 Market Street, First Floor, Tacoma WA 98402
City Council Chambers
November 22, 2016
5:00 PM

Special Meeting

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Strickland called the special meeting to order at 5:46 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Present: 9 - Blocker, Campbell, Ibsen, Lonergan, McCarthy, Mello, Thoms, Woodards and Chair Strickland

Board Member Blocker participated telephonically.

CONSENT AGENDA

There were no Consent Agenda items.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Public comment began at 5:47 p.m.

Speaking before the Board:

1. Alton McDonald, New Century Justice Network, speaking on Resolution No. TBD 015.

Public comment ended at 5:54 p.m.

REGULAR AGENDA

RESOLUTIONS

RES TBD 015 A resolution approving the 2017-2018 Transportation Benefit District Budget and Spending Plan.

[Rae Bailey, Street Operations Division Manager; Kurtis D. Kingsolver, P.E., Director, Public Works]

MOTION: Vice Chair Mello moved to adopt Resolution No. TBD 015.

SECONDED BY: Board Member Woodards.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The Resolution was declared adopted.

Aye: 9 - Blocker, Campbell, Ibsen, Lonergan, McCarthy, Mello, Thoms, Woodards and Chair Strickland

COMMENTS OF THE TRANSPORTATION BENEFIT DISTRICT GOVERNING BOARD

Board Member Lonergan stated one of the largest projects funded was in the south end and it was done in conjunction with utilities work. He commended staff for the coordination of projects, stating it is stretching the taxpayer's dollars dramatically.

Board Member Campbell highlighted some street projects on the east side and south end, noting work is happening all over the City, including parts that have been historically underrepresented.

Vice Chair Mello stated there is an interactive map of the projects and how the tax money is being spent on streets at TacomaStreetsInitiative.org. He noted about 1,200 blocks of the City will be touched as part of the initiative with this upcoming budget.

ADJOURNMENT

On proper motion, the special meeti	ing was adjourned at 6:02 p.m.
Marilyn Strickland, Chair	
Doris Sorum, City Clerk	