

City of Tacoma

TO: Elizabeth Pauli, City Manager

FROM: Doris Sorum, City Clerk, City Attorney's Office

Bill Fosbre, City Attorney's Office

COPY: City Council and City Clerk

SUBJECT: Resolution – Appointing and reappointing individuals to the Transportation Commission –

October 10, 2017

DATE: September 28, 2017

SUMMARY:

Appointing and reappointing the following individuals to the Transportation Commission: Reappointing Evette Mason to the At-Large No. 1 position and appointing Sarah Miller to the At-Large No. 2 position, Cassandra Brown to the Council District No. 4 position, and Bucoda Warren to the Council District No. 5 position to serve a three-year term to expire July 31, 2020.

COUNCIL SPONSORS:

Council Members Ibsen, McCarthy, and Mello.

STRATEGIC POLICY PRIORITY:

Appointing individuals to the Commission best aligns with the strategic priority policy related to planning for and improving public infrastructure that meets the transportation needs of all Tacoma residents and visitors because the Commission advises the City Council on transportation-related matters.

BACKGROUND:

At the September 27, 2017 Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee meeting, the Committee conducted interviews and recommended the appointment of the individuals listed above.

ISSUE:

Four positions need to be filled on the Transportation Commission.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Commission would operate without full membership.

RECOMMENDATION:

The Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee is recommending the appointment of the individuals listed above.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.