

TO:	Elizabeth Pauli, City Manager	
FROM:	Doris Sorum, City Clerk	
COPY:	Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee Members; Kurtis Kingsolver	
PRESENTER: Doris Sorum, City Clerk		
SUBJECT:	Consideration and Recommendation of Applicants to the Planning Commission -	
	May 30, 2018	
DATE:	May 22, 2018	

PRESENTATION TYPE:

Committees, Boards and Commissions Interviews

SUMMARY:

The Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee will interview and may recommend up to three applicants to the full City Council for appointment or reappointment to the Planning Commission. Below is a list of the applicants:

APPLICANTS	COUNCIL DISTRICT
Dorian Waller (seeking reappointment)	2
Steven Johnson	2
Justin Leighton	3
Hugh Winskill	2
John Wolters	3
David Horne*	5
Brett Santhuff* (seeking reappointment)	3

*Provided written response

BACKGROUND:

The Planning Commission consists of nine members appointed by the City Council for three-year terms. All members must be residents of Tacoma. Commission meetings occur the first and third Wednesday of each month at 5:00 p.m.

The Planning Commission develops and updates the Comprehensive Plan and its elements; formulates effective and efficient land use and development regulations and processes that implement the Comprehensive Plan; and reviews various planning issues, such as area-wide zoning reclassifications, moratoria, interim zoning, pre-annexation planning, historic district designation, urban design, and transportation and capital facilities programs.

ISSUE:

Three applicants need to be appointed or reappointed to the Planning Commission.



City of Tacoma

ALTERNATIVES:

The Commission will continue to operate without full membership.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff requests that the Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee recommend the appointment or reappointment of up to three applicants to the Planning Commission, which would be forwarded to the full City Council on June 5, 2018.