

City of Tacoma Economic Development Committee Minutes

747 Market Street Tacoma, WA 98402

Conference Room 16

May 01, 2018

10:30 AM

Chair Conor McCarthy, Vice Chair Catherine Ushka, Lillian Hunter, Victoria Woodards, Chris Beale (alternate)

SPECIAL MEETING

Call To Order

Chair McCarthy called the special meeting to order at 10:33 a.m.

Present: 4 - Hunter, McCarthy, Ushka and Woodards

Briefing Items

1. <u>18-0444</u>

Community and Economic Development Department Director Candidate Presentations [Tadd Wille, Assistant City Manager, Office of the City Manager]

At approximately 10:33 a.m., Tadd Wille, Assistant City Manager, introduced the candidates that will provide presentations for the Community and Economic Development Department Director position.

The Committee was provided presentations from Betty Capestany, Kurt Creager, Christopher Green, Lance Randall, and Jeffrey Robinson.

Ms. Capestany presented implementation ideas for Tacoma 2025; regional marketplace office market and indicators; essence of Tacoma; a community marketing campaign, noting forms of leveraging the brand; and industry opportunities of the future.

Mr. Creager presented projects he has been directly responsible for, his track record, work he had done as Director of Housing for the City of Portland Housing Bureau, Economic Development milestones, and combining economic development with the City of Tacoma.

Mr. Green presented on Tacoma's challenges, noting living wage jobs;

strengths, noting education institutions, cost of living, tech sector, healthcare, and manufacturing; and opportunities, noting focus on small business districts and opportunity zones.

Mr. Randall described his background, and explained what economic development is, strategic planning process, Tacoma 2025, and Community and Economic Development team and leader.

Mr. Robinson presented on economic development in the City and Tacoma 2025, including partnerships, equitable, vision, opportunistic, and focused.

Adjournment

Ç	special meeting adjourned at 12:07
Conor McCarthy, Chair	