

City of Tacoma Infrastructure, Planning and Sustainability Committee Minutes

733 Market Street Tacoma, WA 98402

Conference Room 16

May 09, 2018

4:30 PM

Chair Ryan Mello, Vice Chair Anders Ibsen, Chris Beale, Conor McCarthy, Lillian Hunter (alternate)

Call To Order

Chair Mello called the meeting to order at 4:35 p.m.

Present: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - McCarthy

Approval of Minutes

1. <u>18-0467</u> Approval of the minutes of March 28, 2018

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to approve the minutes of the March 28, 2018 meeting.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - McCarthy

Briefing Items

2. <u>18-0468</u> Sustainable Tacoma Commission Interviews [Doris Sorum, City Clerk]

At approximately 4:35 p.m., Doris Sorum, City Clerk, stated the Committee will be interviewing nine applicants for the Sustainable Tacoma Commission to fill seven positions. The seven positions include one youth member for a one-year term, and six adult positions for a two or three-year term. She informed the Committee Alexandra Brewer and Philip Coughlan are seeking

reappointment and have submitted written responses for review, and Alexandra Brewer and Heather Rawley were not able to attend the interview, however, Ms. Brewer submitted written response.

The Committee interviewed Matthew Benedict, Emily Casebeer, Taysa Charnell, Kenneth Coble, Liberty Evans-Agnew, James Harper, Tye Minckler, Jade Monroe, and JC Rubi.

Discussion ensued regarding the needs of the Commission and the candidates' qualifications.

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the reappointment of Alexandra Brewer to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission, effective May 22, 2018, to serve a three-year term to expire April 30, 2021.

SECONED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - McCarthy

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the reappointment of Philip Coughlan to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission, effective May 22, 2018, to serve a three-year term to expire April 30, 2021.

SECONED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - McCarthy

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the appointment of Liberty Evans-Agnew to the "Youth" position on the Sustainable Tacoma Commission, effective May 22, 2018, to serve a one-year term to expire April 30, 2019.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - McCarthy

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the appointment of JC Rubi to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission, effective May 22, 2018, to serve a three-year term to expire April 30, 2021.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - McCarthy

MOTION: Council Member Beale moved to recommend the appointment of Kenneth Coble to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission, effective May 22, 2018, to serve a three-year term to expire April 30, 2021.

SECONDED BY: Deputy Mayor Ibsen.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - McCarthy

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the appointment of Heather Rawley to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission, effective May 22, 2018, to serve a two-year term to expire April 30, 2020.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - McCarthy

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the appointment of Matthew Benedict to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission, to fill an unexpired term to expire April 30, 2019, followed by a three-year term to expire April 30, 2022.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - McCarthy

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the following four applicants to a shortlist, in order of importance, for future consideration on the Sustainable Tacoma Commission: Jade Monroe, Emily Pinckney, Tye Minckler, and Emily Casebeer.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - McCarthy

3. <u>18-0469</u> Landmarks Preservation Commission Annual Report
[Reuben McKnight, Historic Preservation Officer, Planning and Development Services]

At approximately 5:40 p.m., Reuben McKnight, Historic Preservation Officer, Planning and Development Services, made opening remarks and introduced Kevin Bartoy, Chair of the Landmarks Preservation Commission. Mr. McKnight provided background information on the Historic Preservation

Program, including the 2017-18 objectives, strategies, and achievements; 2017-18 Landmarks Commission year in review; and 2017-18 Heritage Project grants.

Discussion ensued throughout regarding how involved historic preservation is in the community.

4. 18-0470

Traffic Light Synchronization

[Kurtis Kingsolver, Director, Public Works; Leigh Starr, Division Manager, Public Works]

This item was not addressed.

Topics for Upcoming Meetings

5. 18-0472

May 23, 2018 - Cancelled

May 30, 2018 Special Meeting - Tacoma Planning Commission Interviews, Cushman and Adams Substation Update, Infill Housing Development

This item was not addressed.

Other Items of Interest

This item was not addressed.

Public Comment

This item was not addressed.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 5:51 p.m.

Ryan Mello, Chair

Stacy Manthou, City Clerk's Office