

City of Tacoma Infrastructure, Planning and Sustainability Committee Minutes

733 Market Street Tacoma, WA 98402

Conference Room 248

June 05, 2018

9:30 AM

Chair Ryan Mello, Vice Chair Anders Ibsen, Chris Beale, Conor McCarthy, Lillian Hunter (alternate)

SPECIAL MEETING

Call To Order

Chair Mello called the special meeting to order at 9:35 a.m.

Present: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - McCarthy

Council Member McCarthy arrived at 9:42 a.m.

Briefing Items

1. 18-0602

Planning Commission Interview, Discussion, and Appointments [Doris Sorum, City Clerk]

At approximately 9:35 a.m., Doris Sorum, City Clerk, stated the Committee will be interviewing one applicant for the Planning Commission who provided written response at the May 30, 2018 Infrastructure, Planning and Sustainability (IPS) special meeting. Ms. Sorum stated that Dorian Waller and Brett Santhuff are seeking reappointment, and there are three positions open on the Commission. She stated at the May 30, 2018 IPS special meeting, the Committee interviewed Dorian Waller, Steven Johnson, Hugh Winskill, and John Wolters, and reviewed Brett Santhuff's written response.

The Committee interviewed David Horne.

Council Member McCarthy arrived here, at 9:42 a.m.

Discussion ensued regarding the needs of the Commission and the candidates' qualifications. Discussion continued regarding the Planning Commission meeting time change.

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the reappointment of Dorian Waller to the Council District No. 2 position on the Planning Commission, effective July 1, 2018, to serve a three-year term to expire June 30, 2021.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the reappointment of Brett Santhuff to the Council District No. 3 position on the Planning Commission, effective July 1, 2018, to serve a three-year term to expire June 30, 2021.

SECONDED BY: Coucil Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the appointment of David Horne to the Council District No. 5 position on the Planning Commission to fill an unexpired term, effective June 12, 2018, to expire June 30, 2018, followed by a three-year term to expire June 30, 2021.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

Public Comment

There was no public comment.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the special meeting was adjourned at 9:52 a.m.

Ryan Mello, Chair

Stacy Manthou, City Clerk's Office