

City of Tacoma Infrastructure, Planning and Sustainability Committee Minutes

733 Market Street Tacoma, WA 98402

Conference Room 16

February 27, 2019

4:30 PM

Chair Ryan Mello, Vice Chair Chris Beale, Anders Ibsen, Conor McCarthy, Lillian Hunter (alternate)

REVISED

Call To Order

Chair Mello called the meeting to order at 4:35 p.m.

Present: 3 - Beale, McCarthy and MelloAbsent: 1 - Ibsen

Briefing Items

 1.
 <u>19-0174</u>
 Sustainable Tacoma Commission Interviews

 [Doris Sorum, City Clerk]

At approximately 4:36 p.m., Doris Sorum, City Clerk, stated the Committee will be interviewing seven applicants for the Sustainable Tacoma Commission to fill four positions. Ms. Sorum informed the Committee that Liberty Evans-Agnew, Todd Hay, and Chris Karnes are seeking reappointment and have submitted written responses for review.

The Committee interviewed Kaitlyn Conway, Tristan Fields, Seth Kolodziejski, Naomi McReynolds, Suzanna Stoike, Grace Sullivan, and David Thompson.

Discussion ensued regarding the needs of the Commission, candidates' qualifications, and the creation of a short list of candidates.

MOTION: Council Member Beale moved to recommend the reappointment of Todd Hay to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission, effective May 1, 2019, to serve a three-year term to expire April 30, 2022.

SECONDED BY: Deputy Mayor McCarthy.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes:3 -Beale, McCarthy and MelloAbsent:1 -Ibsen

MOTION: Council Member Beale moved to recommend the reappointment of Chris Karnes to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission, effective May 1, 2019, to serve a three-year term to expire April 30, 2022.

SECONDED BY: Deputy Mayor McCarthy.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes:3 -Beale, McCarthy and MelloAbsent:1 -Ibsen

MOTION: Council Member Beale moved to recommend the reappointment of Liberty Evans-Agnew to the "Youth" position on the Sustainable Tacoma Commission, effective May 1, 2019, to serve a one-year term to expire April 30, 2020.

SECONDED BY: Deputy Mayor McCarthy.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes:3 -Beale, McCarthy and MelloAbsent:1 -Ibsen

MOTION: Council Member Beale moved to recommend the appointment of Grace Sullivan to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission to fill an unexpired term to expire April 30, 2020, followed by a three-year term to expire April 30, 2023.

SECONDED BY: Deputy Mayor McCarthy.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes:3 -Beale, McCarthy and MelloAbsent:1 -Ibsen

MOTION: Deputy Mayor McCarthy moved to recommend Kaitlyn Conway to a shortlist for future consideration on the Sustainable Tacoma Commission.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Beale, McCarthy and Mello Absent: 1 - Ibsen

MOTION: Council Member Beale moved to recommend Suzanna Stoike to a shortlist for future consideration on the Sustainable Tacoma Commission.

SECONDED BY: Deputy Mayor McCarthy.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes:3 -Beale, McCarthy and MelloAbsent:1 -Ibsen

<u>19-0175</u> Traffic Calming

2.

[Jennifer Kammerzell, Traffic Engineer, Public Works]

At approximately 5:45 p.m., Jennifer Kammerzell, Senior Engineer, Public Works (PW), introduced Kurtis Kingsolver, Director, PW, and Shawn Stringer, Captain, Tacoma Police Department (TPD). She presented the Traffic Calming Program, including an overview, background, issues, and steps of the Neighborhood Traffic Calming Program. Mr. Stringer concluded Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee Minutes February 27, 2019

by describing the enforcement methods of the TPD.

Discussion ensued regarding methods of enhancing and expanding the traffic unit to increase the program's impact, communicating the criteria and the process to the public, and future information to bring to the Committee.

Public Comment was heard from: 1. Hally Bert, 505 N "L" Street.

3. <u>19-0176</u> Six Year Transportation Improvement Program [Jennifer Kammerzell, Traffic Engineer, Public Works]

> At approximately 6:21 p.m., Ms. Kammerzell introduced Sue O'Neill, Division Manager Assistant, PW, and presented the Six-Year Transportation Improvement Program, including an overview, background, issues, projects completed and those to be removed, and projects to be added. Ms. O'Neill described the 6th Avenue pedestrian crossing safety improvements, Mary Lyon Elementary safe routes to school, the South Yakima Avenue traffic signal operations and visibility improvements, and streetlight poles and circuit replacements. Ms. Kammerzell reviewed the 2018 grant awards the program received; a health, equity, and sustainability analysis; outreach; and next steps.

> Discussion ensued throughout regarding the safety and signal improvements that would be completed during these projects, what would be apparent to the general public, and general timelines for the projects.

Topics for Upcoming Meetings

4. <u>19-0177</u> March 13, 2019- Rename of Puyallup River Bridge, Joint Base Lewis-McChord Airport Compatibility

> Rebecca Boydston, Committee Liaison, stated the March 13, 2019, meeting is cancelled, and the Puyallup River Bridge topic will move to the April 24, 2019 meeting. She further stated the next meeting will be on March 27, 2019 and will include the Joint Base Lewis-McChord Airport Compatibility and Commingled Recycling. She introduced Nick Anderson, who will take over as liaison for the Committee while she is on maternity leave.

Other Items of Interest

There were no other items of interest.

Public Comment

Public Comment was heard earlier in the meeting.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:43 p.m..

Ryan Mello, Chair

Katie Foster, City Clerk's Office