

# City of Tacoma Infrastructure, Planning and Sustainability Committee Minutes

733 Market Street Tacoma, WA 98402

Conference Room 16

May 22, 2019

4:30 PM

Chair Ryan Mello, Vice Chair Chris Beale, Anders Ibsen, Conor McCarthy, Lillian Hunter (alternate) **Call To Order** Chair Mello called the meeting to order at 4:32 p.m. Present: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello Absent: 1 - McCarthy Deputy Mayor McCarthy arrived at 4:48 p.m. **Briefing Items** 1. 19-0528 **Planning Commission Interviews** [Susan Haigh, Acting City Clerk] At approximately 4:32 p.m., Susan Haigh, Acting City Clerk, informed the Committee they would be interviewing two applicants for the Planning Commission, and reviewing written response from Anna Petersen, who was unable to attend the meeting. She concluded by stating Ryan Givens and Anna Petersen are seeking reappointment and provided information regarding vacancies on the Commission. The Committee interviewed Ryan Givens and Alyssa Torrez. Deputy Mayor McCarthy arrived here, at 4:48 p.m. Discussion ensued throughout regarding applicants who had been invited to interview but were not present, applications for the Commission, and applicants' qualifications.

MOTION: Council Member Beale moved to recommend the reappointment of Ryan Givens to the "Architecture, Historic Preservation, and/or Urban Design" position on the Planning Commission to serve a three-year term, effective July 1, 2019, to expire June 30, 2022.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Ibsen.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

MOTION: Council Member Beale moved to recommend the reappointment of Anna Petersen to the "Environmental Community" position on the Planning Commission to serve a three-year term, effective July 1, 2019, to expire June 30, 2022.

**SECONDED BY: Council Member Ibsen.** 

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

MOTION: Council Member Beale moved to recommend the appointment of Alyssa Torrez to the "Council District No. 4" position on the Planning Commission to serve a three-year term, effective July 1, 2019, to expire June 30, 2022.

**SECONDED BY: Council Member Ibsen.** 

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

```
2. <u>19-0529</u> Building Code Updates
[Terry Forslund, Senior Principal Engineer, Planning and Development Services]
```

At approximately 4:58 p.m., Terry Forslund, Senior Principal Engineer, Planning and Development Services, presented the Building Code updates, including an overview, background, issues, mass timber background, proposed state revisions, outreach, next steps, and recommendations.

Discussion ensued regarding other types of constructions, possible future investments due to changing codes, basement ceiling height amendments, the

Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee Minutes May 22, 2019

differences in cost of construction with various timber types, and standardized signage for gender-neutral bathrooms.

MOTION: Council Member Beale moved to forward the proposed Building Code amendments to the Tacoma Municipal Code Chapter 2.02, as presented by staff, to the full City Council for consideration.

**SECONDED BY: Council Member Ibsen.** 

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

### **Topics for Upcoming Meetings**

3. <u>19-0551</u> June 11, 2019-TBD

Nick Anderson, Committee Liaison, stated that there are no topics scheduled for the June 11, 2019 meeting at this time.

## **Other Items of Interest**

MOTION: Council Member Beale moved to forward to the full City Council for consideration a resolution to move the regular meetings of the Infrastructure, Planning and Sustainabilty Standing Committee to the first and third Wednesday of every month at 4:30 p.m. and changing the location to 747 Market Street, Tacoma, Room 248, effective July 1, 2019.

**SECONDED BY: Council Member Ibsen.** 

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

### **Public Comment**

There was no Public Comment.

# Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:21 p.m.

Ryan Motto, Chair (FOR)

Katie Foster, City Clerk's Office