

City of Tacoma

TO: Elizabeth Pauli, City Manager

FROM: Doris Sorum, City Clerk and Bill Fosbre, City Attorney

COPY: City Council

SUBJECT: Resolution – Appointing and reappointing individuals to the

Landmarks Preservation Commission – December 3, 2019

DATE: November 21, 2019

SUMMARY:

Appointing and reappointing the following individuals to the Landmarks Preservation Commission:

- Appointing Sarah Hilsendeger to the "At-Large No. 4" position to serve a three-year term, effective January 1, 2020, to expire December 31, 2022.
- Appointing Deborah Cade to the "North Slope Ex Officio" position to serve a four-year term, effective January 1, 2020, to expire December 31, 2023.
- Appointing Jonathan Hart to the "Professional No. 1" position to fill an unexpired term, to expire December 31, 2019, followed by a three-year term, to expire December 31, 2022.
- Appointing Leah Jaggars to the "Wedge Neighborhood Ex Officio" position to serve a four-year term effective January 1, 2020, to expire December 31, 2023.
- Reappointing Jeff Williams to the "Professional No. 2" position to serve a three-year term, effective January 1, 2020, to expire December 31, 2022.

COUNCIL SPONSORS:

Council Members Beale, Ibsen, and Mello.

STRATEGIC POLICY PRIORITY:

As the Commission oversees the establishment and regulation of landmarks, local historic districts, proposed name changes for public facilities, and certain property tax incentives, appointing and reappointing individuals to the Commission best aligns with the strategic policy priority to foster neighborhood, community, and economic development vitality and sustainability.

BACKGROUND:

At the November 20, 2019 Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee meeting, the Committee conducted interviews and recommended the appointment and reappointment of the individuals listed above.

ISSUE:

Positions need to be filled on the Landmarks Preservation Commission.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Commission will continue to operate without full membership.

RECOMMENDATION:

The Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee is recommending the appointment and reappointment of the individuals listed above.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.



City of Tacoma

TO: Elizabeth Pauli, City Manager

FROM: Doris Sorum, City Clerk, City Attorney's Office

Bill Fosbre, City Attorney

COPY: City Council and City Clerk

SUBJECT: Resolution – Appointing individuals to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission

- December 17, 2019

DATE: December 5, 2019

SUMMARY:

Appointing the following individuals to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission:

- Appointing Tony Ivey to fill an unexpired term to expire April 30, 2021.
- Appointing Evlondo Cooper to fill an unexpired term to expire April 30, 2022.
- Appointing Ashley Sloan to fill an unexpired term to expire April 30, 2023.
- Appointing Elly Claus-McGahan to fill an unexpired term to expire April 30, 2023.

COUNCIL SPONSORS:

Council Members Beale, Hunter, Ibsen, and Mello.

STRATEGIC POLICY PRIORITY:

Appointing individuals to the Commission best aligns with the strategic priority policy related to fostering neighborhood, community, and economic development vitality and sustainability because the Commission oversees implementation of Tacoma's Climate Action Plan as the City and community reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

BACKGROUND:

At the November 6, 2019 and December 4, 2019 Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee meetings, the Committee conducted interviews and recommended the appointment of the individuals listed above.

ISSUE:

Four positions need to be filled on the Sustainable Tacoma Commission.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Commission will continue to operate without full membership.

RECOMMENDATION:

The Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee is recommending the appointment of the individuals listed above

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.