

City of Tacoma Infrastructure, Planning and Sustainability Committee Minutes

747 Market Street Tacoma, WA 98402

Conference Room 248

November 06, 2019

4:30 PM

Chair Ryan Mello, Vice Chair Chris Beale, Anders Ibsen, Conor McCarthy, Lillian Hunter (alternate)

Call To Order

Chair Mello called the meeting to order at 4:35 p.m.

Present: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

Briefing Items

1. 19-1205 Sustainable Tacoma Commission Interviews

[Doris Sorum, City Clerk]

At approximately 4:35 p.m., Doris Sorum, City Clerk, stated that the Committee would be interviewing five applicants for two open positions on the Sustainable Tacoma Commission. She further stated that Marina Magana could not attend the interviews and provided a written response.

Discussion ensued regarding upcoming interviews, the number of applicants, the number of interviews, and the number of positions on other Commissions.

The Committee interviewed Evlondo Cooper, Frances Love, and David Thompson.

Alexzandria Garrett and Ashley Sloan were unable to attend the interviews.

Discussion ensued regarding candidates' qualifications, expanding the size of the Commission, and the remainder of the Commission interviews scheduled for the December 4, 2019 meeting.

MOTION: Council Member Beale moved to recommend the expansion of the Sustainable Tacoma Commission by increasing the number of members from eleven to thirteen.

SECONDED BY: Deputy Mayor McCarthy.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

2. <u>19-1210</u> Electric Vehicle Updates

[Cam LeHouillier, Assistant Manager, Power Energy Research and Development]

At approximately 5:13 p.m., Cam LeHouillier, Manager, Power Energy Research and Development, presented the electric vehicle (EV) updates, including current market; House Bill 1512, noting the clarified utility role and spending constraints; question of governance; the Strategic Plan; the Action Plan; and timeline.

Discussion ensued regarding buying older EVs, battery life, and possible EV car share programs.

3. 19-1181 Electric Vehicle Readiness Recommendation

[Kristi Lynett, Sustainability Officer, and Beth Jarot, Green Building Specialist, Office of Environmental Policy and Sustainability; Terry Forslund, Senior Principal Engineer, Planning and Development Services]

At approximately 5:44 p.m., Kristi Lynett, Sustainability Officer, Office of Environmental Policy and Sustainability (OEPS), made opening remarks and introduced Beth Jarot, Green Building Specialist, OEPS. Ms. Jarot presented the EV readiness recommendations, including issues; recommendation; EV readiness costs; incremental costs; the health, equity, and sustainability analysis, outreach; and next steps.

Discussion ensued regarding the definition of readiness, incentives, barriers to EV readiness, amendments to the International Building Code and parking space code, and accessible parking.

MOTION: Council Member Beale moved to forward the recommendations of staff, as supported by the Board of Building Appeals, to the full City Council for consideration.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Ibsen.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

Topics for Upcoming Meetings

4. 19-1206 November 20 - Landmarks Preservation Commission Interviews, Scooter and Bike Share, Urban Forestry Management Plan

December 4 - Healthy Homes, Healthy Neighborhoods

Claire Goodwin, Committee Liaison, stated that the November 20, 2019 meeting will include interviews for the Landmarks Preservation Commission, a tentative update on the Scooter and Bike Share Program, and the Urban Forestry Management Plan.

Other Items of Interest

Deputy Mayor McCarthy requested a more in-depth discussion of the action plan at a future meeting.

Public Comment

Public Comment was heard from:

1. Annabel Drayton, Northwest Energy Coalition, on Tacoma Power transportation electrification.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:09 p.m	
Ryan Mello, Chair	
Katie Foster, City Clerk's Office	