

City of Tacoma Infrastructure, Planning and Sustainability Committee Minutes

Telephonic

Dial 253-215-8782 Meeting ID: 849 9823 9603 Password: 707603

July 22, 2020

4:30 PM

Chair Conor McCarthy, Vice Chair Chris Beale, Lillian Hunter, Kristina Walker, Catherine Ushka (alternate)

SPECIAL MEETING

Call To Order

Chair McCarthy called the special meeting to order at 4:34 p.m.

Roll Call

Present: 4 - Hunter, McCarthy, Walker and Ushka

Absent: 1 - Beale

All Council Members participated virtually.

Briefing Items

1. 20-0445 Transportation Improvement Plan

[Jennifer Kammerzell, Principal Engineer, Public Works]

At approximately 4:34 p.m., Jennifer Kammerzell, Principal Engineer, Public Works, presented the Six-Year Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), including an overview; background; projects to be removed and projects to add; 11th Street Bridge demolition over the Puyallup River; the I-5/56th Street interchange Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) additions; implementation of Vision Zero Action Plan; a funding summary of added projects; 2019 and 2020 grant status; health, equity, and sustainability analysis; and next steps.

Discussion ensued throughout regarding City contributions for projects, various partnerships, ADA compliant ramps in tandem with sidewalk projects, categorizing project locations by Council District, and other projects that should be added to the TIP.

MOTION: Council Member McCarthy moved to forward the findings of the Six-Year Transportation Improvement Program with the changes suggested by the Committee to the full City Council for consideration.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Walker.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Hunter, McCarthy, Walker and Ushka

Absent: 1 - Beale

Topics for Upcoming Meetings

2. 20-0462 August 12, 2020 - To be determined

Discussion ensued regarding future meetings, getting upcoming items on the agenda, and Tacoma Streets Initiative projects.

Public Comment

There was no Public Comment.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the special meeting adjourned at 5:44 p.m.

Conor McCarthy, Chair

Katie Foster, City Clerk's Office