

City of Tacoma

TO: Elizabeth Pauli, City Manager **FROM:** Doris Sorum, City Clerk

Bill Fosbre, City Attorney

COPY: City Council

SUBJECT: Resolution – Appointing and reappointing individuals to the Transportation Commission

December 8, 2020

DATE: December 15, 2020

SUMMARY:

Appointing and reappointing the following individuals to the Transportation Commission:

- Appointing Erin Anderson to the "At-Large No. 2" position to fill an unexpired term to expire August 31, 2023.
- Reappointing Evette Mason to the "At-Large No. 1" position to fill an unexpired term to expire August 31, 2023.
- Reappointing Bruce Morris to the "Council District No. 4" position to fill an unexpired term to expire August 31, 2023.

COUNCIL SPONSORS:

Council Members Hunter, McCarthy, and Walker.

STRATEGIC POLICY PRIORITY:

Appointing individuals to the Commission best aligns with the strategic priority policy related to planning for and improving public infrastructure that meets the transportation needs of all Tacoma residents and visitors because the Commission advises the City Council on transportation-related matters.

BACKGROUND:

At the November 18, 2020 Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee special meeting, the Committee conducted interviews and recommended the appointment and reappointment of the individuals listed above.

ISSUE:

Positions need to be filled on the Transportation Commission.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Commission will continue to operate without full membership.

RECOMMENDATION:

The Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee is recommending the appointment and reappointment of the individuals listed above.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.