Req. #21-0896



SUBSTITUTE RESOLUTION NO. 40839

1	BY REQUEST OF MAYOR WOODARDS
2 3 4	A RESOLUTION relating to committees, boards, and commissions; revising the appointments of City Council Members to various national, state, regional, and local committees, boards, and commissions, including the City Council's Standing Committees, for the year 2021.
5	WHEREAS the Mayor and City Council Members are called upon to
6	serve on a number of local, regional, state, and national committees, boards,
7 8	and commissions, and
о 9	WHEREAS, in addition to incorporating feedback from the City Council,
10	Mayor Woodards strives to balance City Council committee, board, and
11	commission assignments based upon a number of criteria, including interests,
12 13	expertise, schedule availability, and balance of assignments, and
13	WHEREAS, preceding Council Member Walker's term on the City
15	Council, her professional experience included nearly a decade leading work in
16	transportation advocacy and providing transportation resources to businesses
17	and community members, and
18 19	WHEREAS, following conversations with Pierce County Executive Bruce
20	Dammeier, Sound Transit Board Chair Kent Keel, and CEO Peter Rogoff,
21	Mayor Woodards sent a letter on August 31, 2021, resigning from the Sound
22	Transit Board and respectfully requesting that Council Member Walker be
23	appointed as the new City of Tacoma representative on the Board following the
24 25	end of her tenure, and
26	



	WHEREAS, on September 14, 2021, Executive Dammeier informed Mayor
1	Woodards that her resignation would be accepted effective September 23, 2021,
2	and that date would mark the end of her term on the Sound Transit Board and that
3	Council Member Walker would fill the vacant seat, and
4	WHEREAS the South Sound Housing Affordability Partners ("SSHAP"), a
5	sub-regional collaboration among Pierce County, cities, towns, and the Puyallup
7	Tribe, created in 2021 under an Intergovernmental Agreement to work together
8	
9	to create local housing affordability, is planning its transition from an informal
10	steering committee to a formal executive board, and has requested the names
11	of appointees for its Executive Board by September 29, 2021, and
12	WHEREAS the City has approved the Intergovernmental Agreement and
13	will benefit from having a representative on the SSHAP Executive Board, and this
14	resolution would appoint Mayor Woodards as the City's 2021 representative to the
15	SSHAP Executive Board, and
16 17	WHEREAS, pursuant to the Tacoma City Charter and the rules,
18	regulations, and procedures of the City Council, the City Council Members
19	named on Exhibit "A" have been nominated to serve on said committees,
20	boards, and commissions listed thereon; Now, Therefore,
21	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF TACOMA:
22	That those nominees to the committees, boards, and commissions listed
23 24	on Exhibit "A" are hereby confirmed, and the City Council Members designated
24	
26	
	-2- Res21-0896sub.doc-WCF-TM/bn



1	thereon shall be appointed as members of such committees, boards, and			
2	commissions, as set forth on said Exhibit "A."			
3				
4	Adopted			
5				
6		Mayor		
7	Attest:			
8				
9	City Clerk			
10	Approved as to form:			
11				
12				
13	City Attorney			
14				
15 16				
17				
18				
19				
20				
21				
22				
23				
24				
25				
26				
	Res21-0896sub.doc-WCF-TM/bn	-3-		



1

EXHIBIT "A"

2021 CITY COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS

2		
3	1.	Association of Washington Cities Board – Blocker
4	2.	Association of Washington Cities Large City Advisory Committee – Blocker, Thoms (alternate)
5		
6	3.	Association of Washington Cities Legislative Priorities Committee – Ushka, Thoms (alternate)
7 8	4.	City Manager Performance Review Committee – Woodards, Blocker, Hunter, McCarthy, Ushka (alternate)
9 10	5.	Community Council Liaison – Hines, Thoms
11	6.	Community Vitality and Safety Committee – Beale, Blocker, Hines, Ushka, Hunter (alternate)
12 13	7.	Cross District Association of Tacoma – Hunter, Thoms (alternate)
14	8.	Crystal Judson Family Justice Center – Thoms, Ushka, Hines (alternate)
15	9.	Economic Development Board Executive Committee – Woodards
16 17	10.	Economic Development Committee – Blocker, McCarthy, Thoms, Ushka, Woodards (alternate)
18	11.	Firemen's Pension Fund Board of Trustees – Woodards, Hines (alternate)
19 20	12.	ForeverGreen Trails – Thoms
21	13.	Foundation for Tacoma Schools – Woodards, Hunter (alternate)
22	14.	Government Performance and Finance Committee – Hines, Hunter,
23		Thoms, Walker, Blocker (alternate)
24	15.	Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee – Beale, Hunter, McCarthy, Walker, Ushka (alternate)
25		
26	16.	Investment and Finance Committee – Woodards



	17.	Joint Municipal Action Committee – Blocker, Walker, Hunter (alternate)
1	18.	Law and Justice Council – Ushka
2 3	19.	Law and Justice Community Oversight Subcommittee – Ushka
3	20.	National League of Cities – Blocker, Ushka (alternate)
5	21.	Parks Policy Group – Ushka, Walker
6 7	22.	Pierce County Commission Against Domestic Violence – Ushka, Hines (alternate)
8	23.	Pierce County Flood Control Zone District Advisory Committee – Beale
9 10	24.	Pierce County Regional Council – Hines, Thoms, Ushka, Blocker (alternate)
11	25.	Pierce Transit Board – Woodards, Beale, Walker
12 13	26.	Police Disability and Pension Fund Board – Woodards, McCarthy (alternate)
14	27.	Puget Sound Clean Air Agency Board/Board of Directors –Beale, Walker (alternate)
15 16	28.	Puget Sound Regional Council/Executive Board – Woodards, Thoms (alternate)
17 18	29.	Puget Sound Regional Council/Economic Development District Board – Blocker, Thoms (alternate)
19 20	30.	Puget Sound Regional Council/Growth Management Policy Board – Beale, Ushka (alternate)
21	31.	Puget Sound Regional Council/Transportation Policy Board – Walker, McCarthy (alternate)
22 23	32.	Puyallup Tribe Community Contribution Committee [2 percent] – Woodards, Ushka (alternate)
24 25	33.	Regional Access Mobility Partnership – Thoms
26	34.	Safe Streets Board – Beale
		-5-

