

City of Tacoma Infrastructure, Planning and Sustainability Committee Minutes

733 Market Street Tacoma, WA 98402

Conference Room 16

June 28, 2017

4:30 PM

Chair Ryan Mello, Vice Chair Anders Ibsen, Conor McCarthy, Robert Thoms, Keith Blocker (alternate)

Call To Order

Chair Mello called the meeting to order at 4:35 p.m.

Present: 4 - Mello, Ibsen, McCarthy and Thoms

Approval of Minutes

17-0644

Approval of the minutes of May 24, 2017

MOTION: Council Member Ibsen moved to approve the minutes of the May 24, 2017 meeting.

SECONDED BY: Council Member McCarthy.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Mello, Ibsen, McCarthy and Thoms

Chair Mello stated Sustainable Tacoma Commission applicant selection will be addressed first.

Briefing Items

17-0647

Sustainable Tacoma Commission Applicant Selection [Doris Sorum, City Clerk]

At approximately 4:37 p.m., Chair Mello, provided information regarding one vacancy on the Sustainable Tacoma Commission (STC) and stated that two applicants, Matthew Benedict and Todd Hay, who were interviewed at the April 12, 2017 meeting, will be reconsidered for the STC vacancy.

Discussion ensued regarding the needs of the Commission, and candidates' qualifications.

MOTION: Council Member Ibsen moved to recommend the appointment of Todd Hay to the Sustainable Tacoma Commission to fill an unexpired term to expire April 30, 2019.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Mello.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Mello, Ibsen and Thoms

Nays: 1 - McCarthy

Discussion ensued regarding the youth vacancy and keeping the other qualifying candidate on a short list for the next vacancy.

Planning Commission Interviews
[Doris Sorum, City Clerk]

At approximately 4:39 p.m., Doris Sorum, City Clerk, stated the Committee will be interviewing six applicants to fill three 3-year terms on the Planning Commission, and Jeff McInnis is seeking reappointment to the Development Community position.

The Committee interviewed Jeff McInnis, Giovanni Migliaccio, Daniel Pike, Carolyn Edmonds, Karsen Keever, and Andrew Strobel.

Discussion ensued regarding the needs of the Commission, current City projects, and candidates' qualifications.

Chair Mello stated the Committee will be interviewing the Board of Building Appeals applicant before deliberating on the Planning Commission interviews.

Board of Building Appeals Interview [Doris Sorum, City Clerk]

At approximately 5:54 p.m., Chair Mello provided information regarding the Board of Building Appeals vacancy and thanked Charles Mitchel for his service and for reapplying.

The Committee interviewed Charles Mitchel.

MOTION: Council Member Ibsen moved to recommend the reappointment of Charles Mitchel to the Board of Building Appeals to serve a five-year beginning March 4, 2017 to expire March 3, 2022.

SECONDED BY: Council Member McCarthy.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Mello, Ibsen, McCarthy and Thoms

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Discussion ensued regarding Planning Commission's applicants, including the needs of the Commission, diversity, and qualifications.

17-0645 Planning Commission Interviews
[Doris Sorum, City Clerk]

MOTION: Council Member Ibsen moved to recommend the reappointment of Jeff McInnis to the Development Community position on the Planning Commission to serve a three-year term to expire June 30, 2020.

SECONDED BY: Council Member McCarthy.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Mello, Ibsen, McCarthy and Thoms

MOTION: Council Member Ibsen moved to recommend the appointment of Andrew Strobel to the District No. 1 position on the Planning Commission to serve a three-year term to expire June 30, 2020.

SECONDED BY: Council Member McCarthy.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Mello, Ibsen, McCarthy and Thoms

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Thoms moved to recommend the appointment of Carolyn Edmonds to the Public Transportation position on the Planning Commission to serve a three-year term to expire June 30, 2020.

SECONDED BY: Council Member McCarthy.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Ibsen, McCarthy and Thoms

Nays: 1 - Mello

Topics for Upcoming Meetings

17-0648

July 12, 2017 - Hilltop Links to Opportunity Update and Planning Commission Annual Report for 2016-2017

Rebecca Boydston, Committee Liaison, stated the next scheduled meeting is on July 12, 2017 and previously scheduled topics have been already presented or moved to the Council study session. She concluded by stating that she will be working with the departments on the schedule before cancelling the meeting.

Other Items of Interest

There were no other items of interest.

Public Comment

There was no public comment.

Adjournment

here being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:13 p.m.

WIN

Sola Wingenbach, City Clerk's Office