

City of Tacoma Infrastructure, Planning and Sustainability Committee Minutes

733 Market Street Tacoma, WA 98402

Conference Room 16

August 08, 2018

4:30 PM

Chair Ryan Mello, Vice Chair Anders Ibsen, Chris Beale, Conor McCarthy, Lillian Hunter (alternate)

Call To Order

Chair Mello called the meeting to order at 4:34 p.m.

Present: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - McCarthy

Council Member McCarthy arrived at 4:52 p.m.

Approval of Minutes

1.	<u>18-0811</u>	Approval of the minutes of the May 30, 2018 special meeting
2.	18-0812	Approval of the minutes of the June 5, 2018 special meeting
3.	<u>18-0887</u>	Approval of the minutes of the June 13, 2018 meeting
4.	<u>18-0905</u>	Approval of the minutes of the July 11, 2018 meeting
5.	18-0888	Approval of the minutes of the July 16, 2018 special meeting

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to approve the minutes of the May 30, 2018 special meeting; June 5, 2018 special meeting; June 13, 2018 meeting; July 11, 2018 meeting; and July 16, 2018 special meeting.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Absent: 1 - McCarthy

Chair Mello stated Agenda Item No. 7 will go before Agenda Item No. 6.

Briefing Items

7. 18-0890 Transportation Commission Work Plan
[Jennifer Kammerzell, Senior Engineer, Public Works; Justin Leighton, Chair,
Transportation Commission]

At approximately 4:35 p.m., Jennifer Kammerzell, Senior Engineer, Public Works, made opening remarks and introduced Justin Leighton, Chair, Transportation Commission (TC). Ms. Kammerzell provided background information on the TC and reviewed the Commission's 2017-2018 accomplishments. Mr. Leighton presented the 2018-2019 Work Plan, noting the Six-Year Transportation Improvement Program, Transportation Master Plan biennial amendments, Street Initiative progress reporting, TC initiatives, project participation, agency coordination, updates and TC coordination. He concluded with the Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee directions and recommendations.

Council Member McCarthy arrived here, at 4:52 p.m.

Discussion ensued throughout regarding formal liaisons and staff attendance at the TC meetings and advisory groups. Discussion continued on the curb ramp application. Discussion concluded on bicycle infrastructure, noting connections and the Work Plan, the Safe Routes to School program, and a comparison to other jurisdictions.

6. <u>18-0889</u> Transportation Commission Interviews

[Doris Sorum, City Clerk]

At approximately 5:04 p.m., Susan Haigh, Acting City Clerk, stated the Committee will be interviewing seven applicants for five positions on the Transportation Commission (TC). Ms. Haigh informed the Committee that Jane Moore and Jacki Skaught are seeking reappointment and stated Ms. Moore was unable to attend the interview and has provided written response, and Commission Chair Justin Leighton is moving out of District No. 3 and there is an alternate option to reassign Mr. Leighton from the Council District No. 3 position to an At-Large position.

The Committee interviewed Jacki Skaught, Richard Gardner, Alexander Hansen, Bruce Morris, Kari Nathan, Robert Power-Drutis, and Matt Stevens.

Discussion ensued regarding the needs of the TC and the candidates' qualifications.

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the reappointment of Jacki Skaught to the Transportation Commission to the "Council District No. 1" position to serve a three-year term to expire August 31, 2021.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the reappointment and reassignment of Jane Moore to the Transportation Commission from the "At-Large No. 3" position to the "Council District No. 2" position to serve a three-year term to expire August 31, 2021.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Nays: 1 - McCarthy

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the appointment of Kari Nathan to the Transportation Commission to the "Council District No. 3" position to fill an unexpired term to expire August 31, 2019, followed by a three-year term to expire August 31, 2022.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the appointment of Bruce Morris to the Transportation Commission to the "Council District No. 5" position to fill an unexpired term to expire August 31, 2020.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the reassignment of Justin Leighton from the "Council District No. 3" position on the Transportation Commission to the "At-Large No. 3" position to serve a three-year term to expire August 31, 2021.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 3 - Beale, Ibsen and Mello

Nays: 1 - McCarthy

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend the appointment of Richard Gardner to the Transportation Commission to the "At-Large No. 4" position to fill an unexpired term to expire August 31, 2019, followed by a three-year term to expire August 31, 2022.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

MOTION: Deputy Mayor Ibsen moved to recommend Matt Stevens to a shortlist for future consideration on the Transportation Commission.

SECONDED BY: Council Member Beale.

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes: 4 - Beale, Ibsen, McCarthy and Mello

8. 18-0891 Traffic Light Synchronization Part 2
[Leigh Starr, Assistant Division Manager; Kurtis Kingsolver, Director, Public Works]

At approximately 6:09 p.m., Leigh Starr, Assistant Division Manager, Public Works, made opening remarks and provided background information on the Traffic Light Synchronization. Mr. Starr presented on impacts, noting environment, time and economy, and health and safety. He continued on signal timing engineering, noting signals per electrician and signals per engineer. He reviewed vehicle detection in ground, noting number of intersections and number of detections failed; aerial vehicle detection, noting number of intersections and number of detections failed; fisheye vehicle detection, noting benefits, number of intersections, and number of detections failed; and missing and broken detection, noting what the symbol means on a map, traffic impact, and count. Mr. Starr concluded with possible solutions, noting Pierce Transit routes and stops and scaled by ridership, and what it would take to fix problem areas.

Discussion ensued throughout regarding what street loops detect, possible solutions and problem areas.

Topics for Upcoming Meetings

9. <u>18-0906</u> August 22, 2018 - Co-Mingled Recycling and Green Roads

Rebecca Boydston, Committee Liaison, stated the meeting on August 22, 2018 will include co-mingled recycling and all things sidewalk.

Other Items of Interest

There were no other items of interest.

Public Comment

There was no Public Comment.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 6:35 p.m.

Ryan Mello, Chair

Stacy Manthou, City Clerk's Office