

# **City of Tacoma Infrastructure, Planning and Sustainability Committee Minutes**

Dial: 253-215-8782 Meeting ID: 859 1571 9278

Webinar Link: www.zoom.us.j/85915719278 Passcode: 184166

November 18, 2020

4:30 PM

Chair Conor McCarthy, Vice Chair Chris Beale, Lillian Hunter, Kristina Walker, Catherine Ushka (alternate)

#### SPECIAL MEETING

# **Call To Order**

Chair McCarthy called the special meeting to order at 4:34 p.m.

# **Roll Call**

**Present:** 3 - Hunter, McCarthy and Walker **Absent:** 1 - Beale

All Council Members participated virtually.

# **Approval of Minutes**

- 1. <u>20-0871</u> Approval of the minutes of the September 9, 2020 meeting.
- 2. <u>20-0872</u> Approval of the minutes of the September 23, 2020 meeting.

MOTION: Council Member Hunter moved to approve the minutes of the September 9, 2020, and September 23, 2020, meetings.

**SECONDED BY: Chair McCarthy.** 

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

Ayes:3 -Hunter, McCarthy and WalkerAbsent:1 -Beale

# **Briefing Items**

#### 3. <u>20-0873</u> Transportation Commission Interviews [Doris Sorum, City Clerk]

At approximately 4:35 p.m., Doris Sorum, City Clerk, informed the Committee they would be interviewing three applicants for the Transportation Commission, two of which are seeking reappointment, and that there are four positions available, including At-Large Nos. 1 and 2, and Council District Nos. 4 and 5. She further stated no applicants qualified for the Council District No. 5 position, Cam Solomon withdrew due to illness, and that Bruce Morris recently moved from Council District No. 5 to Council District No. 4.

The Committee interviewed Evette Mason, Bruce Morris, and Erin Anderson.

Discussion ensued regarding applicants' qualifications.

MOTION: Chair McCarthy moved to recommend the reappointment of Evette Mason to the "At-Large No. 1" position to fill an unexpired term to expire August 31, 2023.

#### **SECONDED BY: Council Member Hunter.**

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

**Ayes:** 3 - Hunter, McCarthy and Walker **Absent:** 1 - Beale

MOTION: Chair McCarthy moved to recommend the reappointment of Bruce Morris to the "Council District No. 4" position to fill an unexpired term to expire August 31, 2023.

**SECONDED BY: Council Member Hunter.** 

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted.

**Ayes:** 3 - Hunter, McCarthy and Walker **Absent:** 1 - Beale MOTION: Chair McCarthy moved to recommend the appointment of Erin Anderson to the "At-Large No. 2" to fill an unexpired term to expire August 31, 2023.

**SECONDED BY: Council Member Hunter.** 

ACTION: Voice vote was taken and carried. The motion was declared adopted. Ayes: 3 - Hunter, McCarthy and Walker Absent: 1 - Beale

# **Topics for Upcoming Meetings**

4. 20-0874 November 25, 2020 - Cancelled December 2, 2020, Special Meeting - Proposed building and fire code amendments to TMC Title 2 and Title 3; Climate Impacts on Air Quality in Low Income Neighborhoods

> Lynda Foster, Committee Liaison, stated the November 25, 2020, meeting has been cancelled, and that there is a special meeting scheduled for December 2, 2020, and will include updates on the proposed building and fire code amendments, and climate impacts on air quality in low income neighborhoods.

> Chair McCarthy stated that Claire Goodwin, Committee Liaison, will resume work with the Committee soon.

Council Member Walker requested an update on Vision Zero.

# **Public Comment**

There was no public comment.

### Adjournment

There being no further business, the special meeting adjourned at 5:28 p.m.

Conor McCarthy, Chair

Katie Foster, City Clerk's Office